paradise regained

Written for the dVerse prompt “Poetics: City Love“, to write a poem about the city you live in, used to live in, or  visited recently. For me, that was a trip to Melbourne last week about an 8 hour drive away. 

Having steeled myself
XXXfor the noise
XXXthe smell
XXXthe hard concrete greys
XXXof an urban hell
with help from a pharmacopeia
in the pockets of my bag
I get through the days, and,
(more challenging)
the nights as well.

And, in fairness, I cannot say it is all bad –
XXXwe visit the gallery
XXXsee a show
XXXeat café breakfasts
XXXand watch the flow
of all the people passing by,
talking to invisible others
(are they mad or on the phone?)
much as we would watch
an Attenborough doco.

Leaving, we take the slow way north,
through an endless suburban purgatory
XXXpetrol stations
XXXshopping centres
XXXand houses, houses, houses
XXXfor an hour
before I see the best view of Melbourne
(in the rearview mirror)
and as the distances markers on the Hume tick by
the welcoming greens and blues
surround and soothe.

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “paradise regained

  1. Kate, your poem adeptly captures the struggles and occasional joys of urban life, navigating concrete greys to find solace in moments of art and observation, culminating in the soothing embrace of nature. So well done!

    ~David

  2. I love how this prompt has given me the opportunity to travel the world to different cities without leaving my home, and it also shows how much cities have in common: ‘the noise, the smell, hard concrete greys of an urban hell’, although I have found that every city has its own smell. I think we can find galleries and shows in every city, and I’ve eaten a fair few café breakfasts while people watching. I agree with your final lines in general, Kate:
    ‘before I see the best view of Melbourne
    (in the rearview mirror)
    and as the distances markers on the Hume tick by
    the welcoming greens and blues
    surround and soothe.’

  3. The introduction to the city, and the images matching your own expectations, really made me feel like I was there; I love that you included the best of the things to do in an urban environment like this, such as the cafe breakfasts, and the weirdness that sprouts with roads into suburbia of cities, calling it purgatory. But most of all, the relief and feeling of peace when the city is left.

  4. I truly can understand your relief as you left Melbourne behind! Thank you for sharing your day in the city; the things you enjoyed as well as those you didn’t.
    ( I did love Melbourne when I visited 🙂)

  5. I feel a bit the same when visiting a big city, love the time, the culture, and observing the species high on their portable electronics, it is a blessing to go, but even better to leave.

  6. When I was young Melbourne was my home and back then I loved it…and still do in my memory. I must admit that now I would probably have a very different view as I find cities stifling. And long to see them in the rearview mirror.

  7. Rob Kistner

    And, in fairness,
    I cannot say it is all bad – ✌🏼🫶🏼

  8. Anonymous

    Though I have to admit that the view coming into Washington used to be a source of pleasure and pride–it *is* a fine-looking city, as they go–I agree: the best view of a city is in the rearview mirror.

    Priscilla King

  9. Yes, Melbourne has its good and bad. You have captured it. I hate the ever increasing density, traffic and sameness of the ever sprawling suburbs in particular. However, there are many places that still give me great pleasure too. And when I have had enough, one of them is in the rearview mirror. Great Kate.

    • Hi Sean! I saw the sign to Strathbogie on my way south and thought of you. 🙂 I hope you were okay with all the flooding the area. Maybe next time I have to go down to Melbourne we can do coffee on my way?

Comments? I'd love to hear from you!