pork scratchings

It’s wonderful to be a pig,
with snout to dig,
and tail to twitch
at flies that itch

Sun-snoozing here, a human comes
to rub my tum.
My attitude
shows gratitude –

I lift a leg and roll a bit,
Ah, there, that’s it!
Nothing can match
a belly scratch.

Written for the dVerse “minute poem” prompt.

Grace describes a minute poem:
“The Minute Poem is a 60 syllable verse form, one syllable for each second in a minute. The theme should be an event that is over and done completely, as in a minute. Since the dominant line is short the effect is likely humorous, whimsical or semi-serious. It was created by Verna Lee Hinegardner, once poet laureate of Arkansas.

The elements of the Minute Poem are:

1. narrative poetry.
2. a 12 line poem made up of 3 quatrains. (3 of 4-line stanzas)
3. syllabic, 8-4-4-4 8-4-4-4 8-4-4-4 (First line has 8 syllables of each stanza. Remaining lines has 4 syllables in each stanza)
4. rhymed, rhyme scheme of aabb ccdd eeff.
5. description of a finished event (preferably something done is 60 seconds).
6. is best suited to light verse, likely humorous, whimsical or semi-serious.”

Great prompt Grace – what a fun form!

56 Comments

Filed under pig, poem

56 responses to “pork scratchings

  1. Ain

    Haha! Mind you, won’t need to become a pig for that! Good fun…

  2. fireblossom32

    My dog agrees!

  3. A belly scratch is good anytime. Love this fun take!

  4. LOVE!!! And so perfect for the form!

  5. writingwhatnots

    Perfect piggy poem. 😂.

  6. An absolute delight of a one minute poem!!!

  7. A fun read. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Rob Kistner

    Boy don’t I know it Kate! I am smilin’ ear to ear. Great write! 👍🏼🙂

  9. Sooo enjoyed your piggy poem!

  10. Delightful little ditty!

  11. Great work! And thanks for the fun new form.

  12. I love this bit of fun. Had me laughing out loud. 😂

  13. haha had me laughing out loud! Nice one.

  14. Haha,why a pig? I sure agree with you here,nothing beats a belly scratch, nothing! 🙂

  15. 😜 you’re funny. That photo. Lots of pig there. Love it. You’re funny 😁

  16. reputed to be as smart and loyal as a dog

  17. Oh that had me giggling. I imagine every dog, cat, birds and several others who all love a good ‘scritch’ will agree. Delightful use of the form.

  18. Genius poetry Kate! Love the twist in the title, pork v pig. Pigs love scratching, I love scratchings

  19. sanaarizvi

    This is absolutely splendid! I enjoyed this one 😀

  20. Awwwww what a heart-warming poem. Charlotte would be pleased ❤

  21. Gillena Cox

    ☺nice one

    Much love..

  22. Pingback: pork scratchings – Nelsapy

Comments? I'd love to hear from you!