less than half the story

I’ve been thinking about seeds a lot as I keep planting peas that get eaten by mice, and I’ve written a few poems about them. But pruning one into 44 words for Monday’s dVerse quadrille prompt “planting seeds” didn’t work for me. So I tried to think of what a seed is – enough genetic information for an organism (diploid), the machinery of a cell to start it all going (mitochondria, etc)… Did you know that mitochondrial DNA comes purely down the female line? Yours is the same as your mother’s, your grandmother’s, your great-grandmother’s, stretching back along a line of a hundred thousand women…

What arrogance,
what masculine conceit,
calling your semen ‘seed’!
Go on, spill it on the ground,
wait for an army of sons to rise,
from those sad wrigglers –
haploid,
halfwit,
huh! they’re not even half the story.
You’ll wait forever –
it’s not seed you sprayed,
just pollen.

35 Comments

Filed under musings, poem

35 responses to “less than half the story

  1. Carol Congalton

    This made me chuckle!

  2. This got a laugh from me. I like your create take on the prompt.

  3. Interesting fact and hilarious poem.

  4. Hahahaha, I love this! Very clever and humorous. It’s only half without the other half when the “seed” cannot fully grow.

  5. Wow, Kate! Your response to the prompt has made me smile. Arrogance and conceit indeed!

  6. Ha! This is great. I’m sneezing already. Well done.

  7. This is brilliant and hilarious! I read it to my Mum. A stroke of genius.

  8. writingwhatnots

    Ouch! Very funny 🙂 Enjoyed reading this very much.

  9. Lovely poem and great introduction!

  10. To the point and very good.
    I never did understand how “seed” could be appropriate, but then it’s been a male dominated society.

  11. Thank you for this! It made me laugh–and so right–all those centuries of arrogant men!😀. “every sperm is sacred. . .”🤣

  12. Wonderful Quadrille Kate, well written!

  13. How much do I love this ~~~~ let me count the ways!! Cheers.

  14. I love this … full of strength and assertion!
    dwight

Comments? I'd love to hear from you!