scented notes

Monday

Butterfly season
clouds of common browns rise from the leaflitter
swirling through the summer-holiday scented air

Tuesday

The overwhelming complexity of city air:
hot concrete scented steam rising from the pavement
mingles with traffic fumes, jasmine, pine mulch and exotic dinners

Wednesday

Rain, rain, and again rain:
the satisfying scent of brown water as it overspills creek and dam
overlaid with the clean breath of eucalyptus

Thursday

wet leaves glint
in the fresh-washed sunlight, the air smells blue
and a snippet of rainbow hangs in the clouds

Friday

butterflies again,
brown wings slowly beating, as they sip sweetness from the
scraggly roadside Sifton bush

4 Comments

Filed under poem

4 responses to “scented notes

  1. Lovely, Kate. I especially like Thursday. And a chicken update: our two Easter eggers are our most reliable layers and we love their blue green and green speckled with brown eggs. Muchos ta!

    • Thanks Jo. 🙂
      I’m glad the Easter eggers are laying well, and different colours too. We’ve never had any green with brown speckles.
      I bought a weird looking frizzled Polish rooster at auction, he looks like Boris Johnson with a big blond mop. I’ve had him with some Araucana hens and the chicks are a mix of smooth and frizzled, and all seem to be getting the tuft on the head.

  2. 😀 I was frizzled in my teens, big 80’s perm. Now I’m just grizzled.

Comments? I'd love to hear from you!