prosery – turnsole and belladonna

For today’s dVerse prosey prompt, to use the line “To be pretty for you I have dropped two seeds of turnsole in the dark of both eyes.”  from the poem garden  “Garden” by Isabel Duarte Gray in a short piece of prose, no more than 144 words.     

 

All night I waited for you. I plucked up my courage as I plucked the rose petals to scent this bed for you. I have whitened my face with lily root to be pretty for you. I have dropped two seeds of turnsole in the dark of both eyes to hide the red from my tears, and two drops of belladonna to give you dark pools to gaze into. And I have waited for you, as you asked of me, to prove my love. Although I am afraid. But now the dawn is reaching her arms across the sky and the night is turning from her. And these white sheets are reddened only with crushed petals.

27 Comments

Filed under prose

27 responses to “prosery – turnsole and belladonna

  1. Beautifully written both lovely and sad. I love the line dawn is reaching her arms across the sky and the night is turning from her. Well done. 🙂

  2. I’m not sure whether I feel sorrow or relief that the mystery didn’t show up before dawn. This could be love at its purest or something more sinister. I like the ambiguity of it.

  3. my comment should say the mystery “person”

  4. A creative take on the quoted line…well done!

  5. That’s a potent mix, turnsole and belladonna, Kate! I love the use of colour in your prosery piece, and the way you slipped in the prompt line so seamlessly. ‘But now the dawn is reaching her arms across the sky and the night is turning from her’… lovely imagery and an open ending to leave the reader wondering.

  6. Ah… the addition of belladonna is great. Also the line about only the rose petals reddening the bed sheets is great.

  7. One is grateful for the dawn most times.

  8. sanaarizvi

    “I have dropped two seeds of turnsole in the dark of both eyes to hide the red from my tears, and two drops of belladonna to give you dark pools to gaze into.” This is absolutely stunning work done, Kate! I am in awe 😍 Thank you so much for writing to the prompt 💖💖

  9. You captured a suitably Gothic feel with this one!

  10. And these white sheets are reddened only with crushed petals.

    Wow, Kate! That is such a fantastic, suggestive line!

    Much love,
    David

  11. A lovely poetic write, Kate.

  12. This is very lyrical, but also has a gothic feel. I think maybe it’s good he didn’t show up?

  13. Sherry Marr

    This is wonderful!

Comments? I'd love to hear from you!