almost-nightly walk, with little mutt

For the dVerse prompt “take a walk with me“.  

 

I am feeling hostile,
so I don’t ask if anyone wants to come.

Apart from the little mutt of course,
who doesn’t need to be asked
but leaps around me joyously
as soon as I get my shoes.

Outside the sky is hearts-ease hued;
deepening purple over a yellow glow,
so fitting for early spring –
mirroring the small faces shyly peeking up at the daffodils.

There is still enough light to see the shapes of trees
and I watch the little mutt race ahead up the hill
not noticing that I have turned the other way.
Eventually he will realise, and come racing back.

The sound of our footsteps changes,
from soft padding on the bitumen –
the only sealed bit for 10km around –
to the crunch of gravel.

A plane rumbles overhead
on the Canberra to Sydney route.

The scent changes from dusty-sweet wattle
to horse paddock –
saffron scent of hay
to cow manure – warm and pungent.

We are barely through the gate
before the barking starts.

Little mutt races to meet his friend
a lolloping long-haired blond,
smarter than he looks, but still recovering
from the trauma of an electrified cage.

They leap about one another,
all teeth and hair and wagging tails.

N_ waits at the house, her old dog standing guard.
He is now the three-legged patriarch of the pack
and growls at the bouncing youngsters
who are left outside to cavort.

I rarely leave or arrive empty handed –
on this visit I bring dinner
and leave with milk, barely cooled,
and cheese and home-cured olives.

I promise to bring a load of wood,
as winter is coming back for a brief spell.

Full dark by the time gossip is exchanged,
and I take my leave,
calling the little mutt away from his friend.
All three dogs are rescues.

Maybe N_ and I are too.
Maybe everyone is.

The air is cold now, and smells of wet grass
although there has been no rain.

Back up the hill, serenaded by a thousand frogs,
with the milky way stretched above me,
north to south,
with the southern cross at one end.

The milk bottle digs into my hand
but it is too cold now for it to hurt.

We reach the gate,
and there is the familiar jangle as I latch it,
little mutt scooching through
although he could just as easily go underneath.

And there through the trees
are the lights of home.

21 Comments

Filed under poem

21 responses to “almost-nightly walk, with little mutt

  1. Lovely. I particularly loved the pondering about us all being rescues.

  2. I hope you weren’t still feeling hostile after such a walk. I can’t think of a better way to defuse such feeling.

  3. VJ

    Good read, Kate. You kept me engaged from start to finish

  4. Ohhhh thank you so much for posting this! I feel I’ve truly been with you and little mutt, for a daily walk. I am especially smitten by these words:
    “Outside the sky is hearts-ease hued;
    deepening purple over a yellow glow”
    What a wonderful description that is, fusing the look of the sky with the emotions of the writer, escaping the house and not inviting anyone to tag along. The details here are what make this so real. And the ending is just perfect!

  5. sanaarizvi

    This is insanely gorgeous! I felt like I was right there walking along with you! Especially love; “I rarely leave or arrive empty handed– on this visit I bring dinner and leave with milk, barely cooled, and cheese and home-cured olives.” 🥰❤️❤️

  6. There’s nothing better for a mood than an evening walk. Your details had me there on this one every step of the way.

  7. This is wonderful, I especially love the thought of everyone being rescues, and the feeling that this walk left you coming home having left behind the hostility you had when you left.

  8. I love the tinges of emotion in this, although you begin with saying you feel hostile, it is almost like an undercurrent of emotion.

  9. I really enjoyed the imagery and the sounds and scents along the way…. The debate of all being rescues is one I blogged about myself recently along one of my walks, so I felt very much connected with you on your walk 🤗

  10. I so loved this, for me it spoke powerfully of relationships, community and I rejoice in the line I rarely leave or arrive empty handed. Wonderful.

Comments? I'd love to hear from you!